How You Know You’re Homesick (Aug. 25, 2014)

Here’s how you know that I’m quickly approaching the end of my 18 months.  We had a lunch appointment this week with Slla Mora, an older sister from Ecuador.  She taught us how to make these really good polpettine di zucchine (zucchini meatballs…).  To drink, she made us cinnamon tea, made with real cinnamon sticks  (something that’s not easily found here.)  As soon as she handed me my glass of cinnamon tea, I started tearing up.    It’s been too long since my mother last made me that….  Silly, I know, but it happened.   Over it….

So, we don’t have work again.  You know, I’ve learned that having work is a rollercoaster- you have your highs and lows.  This week has been a low.  We just don’t have anyone to teach!  That being said, we’ve been doing quite a bit of finding.  But I’ve got to be honest- I’m the worst finder ever.  I’m awful at it.  I can talk to people.  I can teach. Just put me out on a street and I somehow have no idea what I’m doing.   Don’t get me wrong, I still do it, I’m just really bad at it.    I mostly feel bad for Slla Furia because  I recognize that she’s not learning how to do it either.

So, this week we’ve planned a few exchanges with the other sisters to help us find some people.  The other 2 sisters we live with are good at it, especially Sorella Stephens.  I’m hoping to learn from them!  I want to help the work grow here!!

That being said, we still are keeping busy.  We have had several visits with members.  Just a matter of getting them to help us teach their friends!

One of the cooler moments of the week-  Yesterday they had me translate in Young Women for a 14 yr old girl from England.   The lesson was on eternal marriage and how we can explain it to other people.  The teacher asked the youth to write down a couple of sentences that they would say to people if they asked “What does eternal marriage mean?”    I asked the young lady to do it, and she gave me this blank stare.  I thought she may have not understood me, so I tried asking again but with different words.  Still no reaction.  For about a minute, she was silent.  Finally, I asked her,  “Do you know what an eternal marriage is?”

She said no.  All of a sudden I realized that I had no idea who this girl was or what her background is.  I blurted out, “Are you a member of the church?”   She said “Yes, I was baptized at 8 years old.”   But bless her heart, she literally had no idea what an eternal marriage was.   So instead of translating the actual lesson, I sat there and got to teach her all about temples and marriage and why it’s important to us.  While I was talking, she was taking notes of what I was saying.  It was so neat to be able to teach her about that!  It amazed me that she didn’t know, but I’m glad that she’s finally had someone explain it to her.   So great!

Well, I should get going.  Got other letters to write and people to respond to!

Love y’all!

Sorella Ghio

Leave a comment